Day One

I’ve been inspired by my many followers posts about things they are thankful for. Obviously I live a life of privileged, but the “little things” are still what matter most to this pug.

Day one of “Things I Am Thankful For” – Car Rides
There isn’t a dog alive that doesn’t go weak at the knees when they hear their owners car keys jingle. Wind on our faces, ears flapping in the wind and the occasional bark at passing motorcycles – live just doesn’t get any better that this. So humans, you may think it’s just a short drive to the drugstore, or a quick drive-thru to grab a cup of coffee, but to us dogs, it’s the biggest thing to happen to us today. Strap a dog in and ride. Ride like the wind!!!

day1
Co-Pilot Dolly Sitting Shotgun!

 

Author: divadogblog

Dolly The Pug is the "face" of Diva-Dog.com. Dolly blogs regularly about everyday issues like Paparazzi, college and her shoe fetish. From time to time she gets up on her soapbox and issues directives to the general public, but for the most part she is just a run-of-the-mill Super Star Pug with a blog. Check in regularly (or should we say when the muse inspires her) for her latest travails. Also, since she is the face of Diva-Dog, she regularly posts offers you can only find on her blog. Dolly Dollars are just one of the many deals she reports on.

1 thought on “Day One”

  1. I totally agree. 10 month old Daisy is still learning to jump into the back seat of my truck – she can do it with ease… when she wants to. Not the back seat per se, as when the seats are down there’s a nice flat platform from one side to the other. Most times, when I say, UP! with the back door open, she’ll readily go to the door and put her front paws up on the seat, and wait for me to give her a boost, which was fine and dandy when she was 4, 5, and 6 months old. Now that she’s 65 lbs. it’s not such a good deal for me.

    The way I am “training” her to do it on command is, on certain days, when I’m about to leave for work, and Sheri’s car is already gone, I open the door, put a (high value) treat up in there, and wait her out. I even walk her back a few feet away from the truck to encourage a momentum build-up.

    When she finally acquiesces, I praise her mightily, but the best form of reward, I figure, is to actually start the truck and go for a ride. So, eight o’clock in the morning, dressed for work, two rear windows down, country music blaring from my Pandora station, we’re out on the streets of Tierrasanta.

    Probably her biggest thrill on the ride is seeing other dogs being walked. Being the only human in the car with bionic vision, I spot the dogs at a greater distance than she can, so I merely say the word, Doggie! and point, and she’ll stick her head out the appropriate window. Two previous dogs never caught on to the assistance I was trying to offer.

    Sometimes I think my heart beats faster on those early morning rides in the truck, than Daisy’s – especially seeing other dogs hoofing it, from our perch up in the truck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

